TOWNSHIP OF EDWARDSBURGH CARDINAL

May 25, 2021

Resolution	Number:	2021-	

Moved By: _____

Seconded By: _____

COPY

WHEREAS the Township of Edwardsburgh Cardinal currently utilizes the ward system to elect the 3 Ward Councillors, with an at-large system to elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor; and

WHEREAS the current ward system reflects historical pre-amalgamation boundary division, which will continue to divide and cause issues of integration and development of the Township as one single community; and

WHEREAS an at-large system can promote a more unified municipality and allow for better long-term planning; and

WHEREAS the at-large system gives electors a greater choice in candidates and more flexibility in elections; and

WHEREAS Section 222 of the Municipal Act, 2001, allows a municipality to pass a bylaw to dissolve the existing ward system; and

WHEREAS Section 222 of the Municipal Act, 2001, provides that the municipality must provide public notice of 15 days after passing a bylaw to dissolve the municipal ward system and allow a 45 day appeal period; and

WHEREAS Section 18 of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, provides that the Clerk of the municipality shall inform the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation of the boundaries of the voting subdivisions on or before March 31 in the year of the regular election; and NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Edwardsburgh Cardinal:

- 1. Dissolve the ward system for the upcoming 2022 municipal election; and
- 2. Direct staff to prepare a bylaw in accordance with the Municipal Act and Municipal Elections Act for the June Regular Council to officially dissolve the ward system; and
- Direct staff to complete the necessary public notice requirements and inform the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation that the ward boundaries have been dissolved for the upcoming 2022 election within the Township of Edwardsburgh Cardinal.

□ Carried □ Defeated □ Unanimous

Mayor:

RECORDED VOTE REQUESTED BY:				
NAME	YEA	NAY		
Councillor H. Cameron				
Councillor S. Dillabough				
Councillor J. Hunter				
Deputy Mayor T. Deschamps				
Mayor P. Sayeau				
TOTAL				